Background: Back in 2013 I won a song writing competition in Caronport, SK and also the opportunity to have my song professionally recorded and produced. …. Unfortunately, I never did anything with it back then, but oh well here it is! 🙂

I wanted to call it SKYLIGHT but I had to change the name to HOPE RAINS because it sounded like I was saying “no brains!” LOL. Though, to me it will always be my ‘Skylight’… you could say I’m pretty attached. Here are the lyrics, hope you enjoy!

Skylight by Morgan Groenewald

a sunset

igniting fiery wisps of clouds

moving with the wind

moving with the wind

dark clouds

rolling over

giving way to night

darkening the sky

bringing silence

bringing silence

cold falls

trapped within

shutting out the wind

shutting out the wind

and silence

silence

thunder

crashes through the night

awakening

awakening

sunlight

the heat upon your skin

fire burns in you again

and hope rains

and hope rains

and hope rains

washing all your sins away

and hope rains

and hope rains

and hope rains

through eyes that don’t easily share

the secrets of your pain

* * *

a sunset

your beautiful sunset

igniting fire

all around

a sunset

your beautiful sunset

igniting fire

all around

forever moving with the wind

2013-08-06 16.37.01

2 comments

Leave a Reply

